JeetKuneDo

10+ Year Member
Oct 25, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
So, this is my first time posting one of these, but I want the bitter truth. Be as rough with me as you want.

So, with the way I'm headed so far, here are my stats:

Junior
Science: 3.48
Non-Science: 3.52
Cumulative: 3.44
MCAT: 12 BS, 10 VR, 11 PS

EC's:
-Undergrad Research, no publications, but been working for almost a year
-Volunteer at the University hospital, after break which I will be in the ER
-Shadow experience coming in the next few weeks.
-Martial arts club

Here's my view if I were to apply this year. I think my EC's suck, and I really don't know my actual duties in the ER until my first day. I'm just hoping to hang around and hopefully see some interesting situations. I probably won't publish with my research.

Considering I keep my gpa, I would like to know how I'd look if I were to apply this year. I am a CA resident and know that I will probably not be able to stay in CA. My goal is just to get into an MD school. How would I look at a "lower tier" med school?

Thanks in advance.

ILikeFood

NSU Class of 2013
10+ Year Member
Jul 19, 2008
Status (Visible)
My expert opinion:

You're on the cusp. A slightly higher gpa and one or two more activities and you're good.

About the Ads

Asomasu

10+ Year Member
Apr 4, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I think you should wait and pull up your gpa while including a more service oriented activity as well on top of your EC's. Something like the red cross club (you should try to be a leader in it too). Also, don't think that you don't have a shot at lower tier just yet, I would wait and apply next cycle with these improvements and you'll be a sure thing for middle tier.

One thing I have learned is that one area of your app can keep you out, but no one area can get you in. Good luck man.

genswim24

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 1, 2008
planet hoth
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]