help! Content review is taking me too long

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

owala

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background: I just started studying for the MCAT and planned to complete 8 Kaplan Chapters per week (over 4 days). I use one day as MCAT FL/ practice question, another day to review the FL, and want to take one day off to avoid burnout. I will be taking the exam May 11th and want to be done with content review by the 1st week of April to use the last month for FL exams and review exclusively. I've done generally well in all of my prerequisites and have a strong sGPA. I took a NS Diagnostic before starting and got a 501.

My issue is that I take too much time to get through Kaplan chapters and I don't know what I'm doing wrong or how I can try to speed up while still retaining anything. I don't remember everything from general biology or chem or any of the classes I took because it's impossible to remember that level of detail years after. For each chapter I just read through, complete the discrete questions, compete an ANKI deck made by someone else, and annotate the AAMC guide. It takes me 4 hours to get through each chapters and I had initially hoped to dedicate 2 hours per chapter. What am I doing wrong and how should I adjust my study plan because I'm feeling really frustrated with myself and discouraged because I can't get through chapters faster to stick to my original study plan.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know that you're doing anything wrong; I'm taking my time plowing through a chapter of two or three sciences each day and then one CARS passage. It takes time. for me, I'm worried less about time it takes and more about making sure that any discretes that show up on actual exam are one and done... content knowledge does that.