Help! Is this even possible???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hets

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergrad, and I've transferred schools and campuses about 3 times (for reasons beyond my control, finances, etc...) I have 3 W's so far, one of which I am retaking. I couldn't help getting 2 of them, because if I didnt' drop them, I might have gotten bad grades in the classes. My gpa stands at about a 2.97 right now. I've had a really difficult time during undergrad, mostly because of finances, transferring, and being sick for two semesters. Also, I have worked all through school, and many times have had to have 2 jobs to keep up with tuition.

I really REALLY want to apply to med school when I graduate. I'm planning on taking all my prereqs as a post bac. If I do well during the post bac, how would DO schools look at my grades? I've got a mix of A's, B's, and C's, with nothing lower than a C.

I realize an upward trend and a good gpa from the prereqs is what I need, but would they look unfavorably at my undergrad gpa? I've still got about 3 semesters to finish, and this semester is looking pretty good at this point. I'm planning on starting to study for MCAT's this year.

As far as EC's, I've volunteered at a hospital, and am currently researching with two professors to work on an honors thesis, both of which I have been researching with for over a year. I'm also part of a few pre-med and science related clubs.

Do I have a good chance? I just want to know if and what I should expect to come up once I begin applying.

Members don't see this ad.

I would say that you have a good chance...Your grades arent' "that" bad and you have time on your side. You have enough time to pull that upward trend (which definately would increase your chances of acceptance). You should take a bit of time to look at the avg GPA accepted at schools and set that as a goal.