Help: Low undergrad GPA due to special circumstances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mosafer

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello
I apologize in advance for this long post.
I have been actively trying to gain acceptance to a MD/DO program in the past 3 years. I am hoping that you'd be able to kindly navigate me to make a right decision after reading a little about my background.
I migrated to the U.S at age of 20 (about 10 years ago) and I had to overcome multiple financial, family and emotional problems during my undergraduate years. Unfortunately my poor time management and decision making skills significantly hindered my academic performance and I graduated with a 2.86 cumulative GPA in 2014. i Obviously my GPA let me with no chance at pursuing my medical eduction.

In the next two years, series of events and personal experiences confirmed I had to figure out a way to make up for my mistakes at all cost. I have retaken almost all of my science courses. I obtained a cumulative post-baccalaureate GPA of 3.7 while I participated in multiple extracurricular activities including but not limited to being a Learning Assistant for 3 semesters and obtaining over 2000 hours of hands on patient experiences, working as a medical assistant.

My achievements however do not express the tremendous amount of time, energy, motivation and discipline that I had to put in to thrive. In 2019, I finally was diagnosed with ADHD which explained all sort of difficulties I had to face previously. Since the onset of my treatment, I have experienced significant improvement in all aspect of my life including my academic productivity.