MD & DO Help Me.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CharmanderMD

Lvl 15
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright, this is basically my first post here. I'm somewhat of a nontraditional applicant. I graduated from a top 10 LAC in 2012 and recently started taking my prereqs at a state school near my hometown. My freshman and sophomore years of undergrad weren't the best; not bad by any means but not up to par for med school. I had lots of B's and had a solid 3.3 gpa going into my junior year. Luckily the realization that I wanted to go into medicine reignited the academic passion that got me into my undergrad in the first place. I finished strong with good grades and a research based neuroscience thesis.

cGPA: 3.57
sGPA: 3.78
Postbac GPA: 4.0 (23 credits)

I've had a lot of clinical experience working as an inpatient phlebotomist for the past 2 years. I get to see pretty much everything. We get called to traumas in the ER and codes on the floors. I've gotten to go into the OR and have drawn on women delivering their baby. That being said, however, I've had very minimal "volunteer" clinical experience. I volunteered for 40 hours on a pediatric wing during junior year of my undergrad and that's about the extent of it.

Question 1: should I get more clinical volunteering experience or is my job enough? I see much more working for the hospital than I ever did volunteering but fear that I won't be able to "check the box. "

Second, I'm currently enrolled in orgo II and physics II for the spring semester but I plan on applying this upcoming summer. When do you all suggest I take my MCAT? I was thinking June because I'd have all the content in my classes as well as a month to reenforce it prior to taking the test, I just worry that I'll get my scores too late and that it will hurt my chances at schools.