Help needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rockstar88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an IMG with scores 224, 232 and 198..I'm an old grad (2011)..I interviewed at a program for IM prelim and don't really know which way I should go after completion if I were to match there..What are my realistic options? Any advice would be really appreciated..Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Not 100% certain what you're asking. If you have a chance of getting a prelim spot, you should certainly take it. You could try to get an IM PGY-2 afterwards, or it would make you much more competitive in the match the next time with all that US experience, or you could try to find a Rads spot, or a neuro spot, both of which require a PGY-1 first. If you have other interviews for categorical spots, then you should probably rank those above this prelim. If this is your only interview, you really have nothing to lose. Or am I misunderstanding your situation / question?

Not 100% certain what you're asking. If you have a chance of getting a prelim spot, you should certainly take it. You could try to get an IM PGY-2 afterwards, or it would make you much more competitive in the match the next time with all that US experience, or you could try to find a Rads spot, or a neuro spot, both of which require a PGY-1 first. If you have other interviews for categorical spots, then you should probably rank those above this prelim. If this is your only interview, you really have nothing to lose. Or am I misunderstanding your situation / question?
Thank you very much for the response. This is the only interview I have so far..How easy or hard is it to find a Radiology or Neurology spot for an IMG? And are you talking about applying to off-cycle positions or apply to these specialties through ERAS?