This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psycstudenthopeful

Reaction score
Hello!

So, a little bit of background:
I am 33. I spent most of my 20's as a teacher in a foreign country. While there, I became involved at an orphanage and volunteered for 6 years there. During that time, I became interested in psychology and decided to pursue it. Because I was in a different country, I had to get my master's online. I got my master's in child development from Southern New Hampshire University. Now I am wanting to continue and get my PhD in child and adolescent psychology so that I can become a counselor and start a non-profit. I would also like to be involved in research at some point.

My problem is that my school, being online, did not give me an opportunity to do research. I currently live in a small town, so I don't have any opportunities close to me (that I know of. I don't really know how to look.). Also, I don't really have anyone around here to ask all my questions. So here they go.

1) Should I redo my entire graduate work and start from the beginning, doing a master's and Phd? Is there any way to redeem what I did online to get into a PhD program?

2) Can a master's degree in counseling lead to a Phd? How does a professional who is already working get his PhD?

I appreciate any information anyone can provide. There is just no one around me to ask. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds like you’re passionate about helping children, which is great.