Here is my application..Do I stand a chance? Or should I just go to St. George's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnnieWalkerMD

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm 22 years old and am applying to medical school. Here are my stats....

Total Cumulative Ungergrad (CUG) GPA:

Science CUG: 2.93
Non sci CUG: 3.06

Obtained a BS degree in biology at a University of California school.

Then I did a postbacc and Masters at a Cal State School:

Postbacc GPA: 3.73 (have 28 units of anatomy, immunology, medical micro etc...only took medical science relatied courses)

Graduate GPA: 3.81 (19 units of seminars and crappy grad classes that you need to take).

I am currently writing my thesis on cancer cells (wont go into details). I will receive my Masters degree by the end of the year.

I have published in Acta Histochemica as 2nd author, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Faseb Journal and have presented in countless poster presentations at scientific conferences.

I havent done ANY volunteer work.

Here are my mcat scores.... 8V,8P,Q,10B and 6V,12P,Q,9B 30 if you take highest from both sections.

I applied to Albany, Chicago Med (finch), Drexel, GWU, Jefferson, USC, Loma Linda, Medical College of Wisconsin, Meharry, Michigan State, NYMC, St. Louis Univ, Temple, Univ of Vermont, Tulane, Uniformed Services, UC Davis, UC Irvine, Wake Forrest, Wright State, and a couple of hick schools for gambling sake.

Do I stand a chance? Could I actually pull an interview? I want to get started already, but I wonder if its worth it to keep applying if I dont get in this time around. I am contemplating attending St Georges in the carribean asap. I wouldnt want to not get in anywhere in the next couple of years only to have to resort to SGU, when I can start at SGU right now.

any advice is appreciated,

Johnnie Walker M.D.

Members don't see this ad.