Hi everybody

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spideyman44

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been lurking on SDN for a while now but finally decided to register and start interacting. A little bit about me as it pertains to my goal of becoming a medical doctor. I graduated with a B.A. in chemistry in '06 with the intent of going to medical school right after but due to a low gpa (2.9 cum) and very low MCAT (17N, 08/05) I decided to go out into the real world to see what I could do with my degree. I've been working for 2 years now at a company and I'm doing relatively well but I still want to pursue a career in medicine. I took the MCAT again (08/07) and did poorly once again (19M) and decided that if I ever had a shot at getting into medical school that I would need to bring up my MCAT scores and GPA. I was accepted into a program at Southern Illinois University but because of financial reasons I don't think I'm going to be able to attend. I decided that it would probably be best for me to stay where I'm at for right now and take classes at the university where I live.

Even though I've been reading these boards for a while I'm not really sure to begin with any of this. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on what classes I should take, should I enroll as a 2nd undergrad or continuing ed. student, etc? Thanks for any help.

Members don't see this ad.

With a low GPA in a science major and consistent low scores on the MCAT, it sounds like there may be a problem with your mastery of the content in the prerequisite courses. What were your grades in gen chem 1/2, org chem 1/2, bio 1/2 and physics 1/2?