Hi guys! New Member! Chances of getting into a DO program??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DirectorP32C

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys!

I'm new on SDN, but I've been reading up on he forums here for a few weeks. I've learned a lot!! But I kind of wanted to get some feedback from you guys on my own personal chances of getting into a DO school. I took the April 16th 2011 MCAT and got a 29R. My AACOMAS science GPA is 3.78 and cumulative GPA is 3.88. My extracurriculars are as follows:

1) 5 years of Ocean Lifeguarding experience - CPR/AED/oxygen certified
2) College Student Ambassador
3) Summer-long shadowing in the ER at my local hospital, where I shadowed a DO most nights I was there (getting a LoR from her!)
4) Spanish Conversation Hour Student Leader
5) Sigma Delta Pi - National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society
6) Dean's list every semester so far (I'm a rising senior undergrad)
7) Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity - some leadership positions here
8) college Club Swim Team Captain for 3 semesters
9) will be doing faculty-mentored research in my college's biology department next year, both semesters

This is basically my profile. I'm a NJ resident. I'm applying to mostly DO schools (about 11 or so? all over the country), and a few MD schools with MCAT scores on the lower averages (such as UMDNJ - NJMS and RWJ, temple, drexel, and george washington). What do you guys think?? any suggestions as to which DO schools should be on my list? I'm really aiming for DO, I very much would rather be a DO and just threw a few MDs in there for good measure. Thanks in advance, guys!

Members don't see this ad.

You are good anywhere you apply. If you're URM, you're good for MD almost anywhere too.

Should be good for most DO schools.