High School Extracurriculars Affecting Resume

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunflower18

Master of Naps
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that the rule of thumb is that your high school ECs don't matter and should not go on your application. However, if you continue volunteering, can you put that you have x number of cumulative hours, including high school?

I, like many others I'm sure, have been volunteering at a hospital since freshman year of high school (I'm a freshman in college now) and got 400-450 hours there. I am continuing at a hospital near my college and back home during breaks, so I will definitely keep accumulating hours. My question is, when I apply to med school, will I be able to say that I have 600+ hours from 9th grade - present? Or is that not a good idea? It doesn't matter much either way, I suppose, but it'd be nice if all those hours that I've spent in the hospital find their way onto my application somehow! :) And yes, it was meaningful experiences with a lot of patient interaction.

I couldn't find (recent) threads that answered this particular question, so I hope that this doesn't come on the heels of a similar query. Thanks so much!!

Members don't see this ad.

The Common Wisdom is that you can list HS activities if they continued into the college years, so go ahead and include all those lovely hours. The actual Instruction Manual for including activities on the AMCAS application says nothing about this issue. But practically speaking, adcomm members are unlikely to be impressed if your sole listed acquisition of clinical experience occured 3-4 years before you apply. That said, if one does have pertinent HS experience not continued in college, it's fine to mention it in the Personal Statement as part of one's Journey toward Medicine.