Hills science diet

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ausrural

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
On another thread, someone suggested that hills science diet isn't perhaps a particularly good brand of dog food ... I was wondering why that is? Over here it is heavily promoted by vets and pet stores

Members don't see this ad.

From what I have heard, it's because Hill's Science Diet has a lot of fillers, especially things such as corn, I think. I feed my dog Proplan, and she loves it :D And it's not supposed to have any fillers in it either.

My major issue is the ingredients relative to the price. An example is SD feline adult optimal care:

Ingredients: chicken by-product meal, whole grain corn, brewer's rice, corn gluten meal, animal fat (preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid), chicken liver flavor, (list of added vitamins and minerals)

Based on this list, the food contains no muscle meat (not actually bad, but by-products are less expensive) and probably contains more grain by weight than meat. This isn't my first choice of ingredients for an obligate carnivore. And around here, a 6# bag retails for $19.95 at PETsMART. Now, I'm not saying your pet will be unhealthy if fed SD and I'm not saying your pet will be healthier if fed something else. I'm also not discounting the value of therapeutic (i.e. "prescription") diets for those who would benefit from them. I am saying that I feel my $20 are better spent on a diet that includes fewer grains and carbohydrates and incorporates at least some muscle meat. Then I'd feel like I'm spending my money on actual cat food instead of a brand name printed on the bag.