Hobbies in AMCAS Work/Activities Section

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

osalas

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am having trouble figuring out how to enter a hobby into the AMCAS work/activities section, particularly with the "Start/End dates" and hours.

Any suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm wondering this too. I'm a runner, and I've been running daily for about 8 years but I've never been involved with any kind of organization or club around it. It's just something I do. I want to include it because it's taught me a lot, and been a great stress reliever.

I was going to list my estimated hours, estimated mileage, and length of time I've been running. Idk what to do for organization name, etc. I'd love to hear from more experienced members on this.

Take a deep breath and realize it doesn't matter at all. Estimate the hours, put 0, put 1, no ad com cares, they will get the point. Maybe if this is one specific and super meaningful hobby, try to estimate more carefully. Nobody is getting kept out of med school because Bill from Admissions thinks it's sus that you are your own contact for your hobby section that says "reading, running, cooking"

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I am President & CEO at Wahed Running Incorporated.

Contact me for a reference.

Reactions: 1 user
I am having trouble figuring out how to enter a hobby into the AMCAS work/activities section, particularly with the "Start/End dates" and hours.

Any suggestions?