Honest Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TX_EX_13

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good evening,

I've been a roamer on the site for the past couple of months now and registered onto the forum because I need some advice. To start off, I graduated in 2013 with an undergrad in International Finance, but I had a rough go around during my 4 years, and poorly under performed throughout my time as seen with the following stats. The reason for the sGPA is because I originally started off as an Aerospace Engineer and did not do well in the Math and Chemistry sections, so ultimately I took a hit there.

Undergraduate Stats
cGPA: 2.30
sGPA: 1.30

Fast forward to 2019, my attitude, maturity, and mindset ultimately changed and after working on the business sector of the HealthCare field, I wanted to make a change and take a stab at medical school after having volunteered at the local hospital, as well the research and shadowing experiences that I've had. I knew that with my low stats during undergrad that if I wanted to show a true turnaround, that it needed to start in the classroom. Since 2017, I have gradually been taking the pre-reqs for medical school having received all A's during this post-grad phase.

Classes Completed
Biology I and II
Chemistry I and II
Organic I and II
Statistics
Physics I
Genetics

I plan on taking Physics II and Biochemistry in 2020, as well as taking A&P 1 and 2 during the summer. The other thing is I plan on taking the MCAT during the April/May time frame.

My plan it to finish strong with these last 4 classes (with A's) and my stats would look like the following ending Summer 2020:

cGPA: 2.80 (Plus 0.5 improvement)
AMCAS sGPA: 3.46
AACOM sGPA: 3.82
Post-Grad GPA: 4.0 (Through 52 credit hours)

With that being said, I do have a couple of questions.

- I've been considering doing an SMP or DIY starting Fall 2020, should I still continue that route?