Hopkins vs. UCSF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bear1220

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've never used SDN before. I'm from CA and I was so sure I was going to UCSF. But I got off of Hopkins' waitlist last week and I have to give Hopkins an answer ASAP. My friend who knows I've been struggling with this decision suggested I try SDN for some opinions. Any information/opinions/comparisons would be fantastic.

Good luck to all those just starting the process!

Members don't see this ad.

It depends on what you're looking for. Hopkins is a great school but I think you're better off being a student at UCSF. The faculty at SF seem to value teaching a lot more than those at Hopkins. And SF is pass/fail as opposed to high honors/honors/high pass/ pass/ fail (essentially A, B, C, D, F) at hopkins.

Another consideration is location. San Francisco is awesome. Have you ever been to Baltimore? And I'm not talking Fell's Point here, but the area around Hopkins Med. It's a disaster.

mdmike24 said:
The faculty at SF seem to value teaching a lot more than those at Hopkins. .

Uhh, sorry but thats absolute bull****. I agree with everything else you said, but the statement above is flat out wrong.

Members don't see this ad :)