How are Community College Transfers evaluated on an application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SketchLazy

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was looking through the TPR guide of medical schools in the nation and noticed that a few schools don't count any classes taken at a community college. This is only a small number out of the ones I looked at but I was wondering if medical schools weigh your GPA any less if you went to a community college and transferred. I went to a cc and then transferred to a top-tier school but most of my units are from the cc. What do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm actually in the same circumstance as you. I've only taken one science course because I'm a non-trad student, but heard that some medical schools look down at students with courses taken from community colleges, is this for real or what.

I was looking through the TPR guide of medical schools in the nation and noticed that a few schools don't count any classes taken at a community college.
Such as? This thread comes up every now and then and whenever I've tried to get someone to identify schools that do not take community college classes taken before transfering to a four year university, the only school folks have been able to name is Harvard.

What are these schools? I applied to 37 as a community college transfer and didn't run into any problems.

Members don't see this ad :)
To piggy-back off of notdeadyet, I did the supposedly unthinkable... I graduated from a University and then went back and took the pre-req classes that I needed... wait... here it comes... at a COMMUNITY COLLEGE!