how competitive is neurology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ultane123

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm really leaning toward a career in neurology and have heard mixed things. some say it's ultra-hard to land, others say it goes unfilled each year. i dont know what to believe since i'm new to the process? thoughts?
u.

Members don't see this ad.

ultane123 said:
i'm really leaning toward a career in neurology and have heard mixed things. some say it's ultra-hard to land, others say it goes unfilled each year. i dont know what to believe since i'm new to the process? thoughts?
u.

If you have a pulse and a medical degree you can match in neurology. What's more difficult is matching into a "top" program. (see multiple other postings for ad nauseum discussions of which are "top programs."

I have no idea where the myth that Neuro is really really competitive came from. I think there are actually very few people who are legitimately interested in Neurology, so it's not competetive. Ditto what the other guy said.

Members don't see this ad :)
neurologist said:
If you have a pulse and a medical degree you can match in neurology. What's more difficult is matching into a "top" program. (see multiple other postings for ad nauseum discussions of which are "top programs."
OK...I have a pulse (a bit tachy) and a medical degree (from Caribbean school) BUT how about the fine print? Namely, barely passing Step 1 and multiple failures on Step 2 CK :oops: ...NOW, does that change your answer? Neuro was always my 1st choice but I don't know if it's realistic anymore. Any insight? Thanks.

Nerdoscience said:
I have no idea where the myth that Neuro is really really competitive came from. I think there are actually very few people who are legitimately interested in Neurology, so it's not competetive. Ditto what the other guy said.