How did DO students fare in the SF match?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Decremaster

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey - I'm a second year student interested in ophthalmology and was wondering how my fellow DO students fared in the SF match this year. Would love any advice or feedback. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Can't speak for others, but I matched! So thrilled and fortunate to have gotten a spot at a great program.

I met several other DOs on the trail, about 6 (there may have been others I didn't run into). They seemed like great people and I am sure others had success as well.

Reactions: 1 users
I matched! I feel fortunate as well.

I only met one other DO on the trail, but am unsure as to what came of him. If you have specific questions let us know.

Members don't see this ad :)
Congrats on matching guys! Just out of curiosity, what programs did you match at? Did you rotate there? How many MD interviews did you get?

I matched! I feel fortunate as well.

I only met one other DO on the trail, but am unsure as to what came of him. If you have specific questions let us know.
Hey have any advice or tips on what to do during your three years before matching, currently a MS1 very interested in ophtho. Thanks

I would say research as often as you can with a doc at a university with a good Ophtho program if you can swing it. That's what got me in. Obviously Step 1 really matters, so bust your butt there. If while at the Ophtho programs you can network in any way that always helps. Ophtho is a small world.