How do Canadian dentists practice in the US?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

elephantdds

Reaction score
Canadian dentist trying to relocate to NJ. I'll try to keep it brief and easy to follow. From what I've researched, what I understand is:

• to work as a dentist, I need a NJ dentist license. I have done the exams. Application + licensure on average takes several months. I believe a SSN is required.
  • to live legally in USA, I need a TN visa. I can get this at the border/port of entry with my documents and a job offer letter. However, if I apply for the visa more than 10 days before my job start date, it will be denied.
  • to get paid for work, open a bank account, and get the license, I need a SSN. It can't be applied for online or even in advance, only when I am in the country.
I just can't see a logical sequence for getting these items. When I get the visa at the border, I'll be 10 or fewer days out from my job start date. Once in the US, I can apply for the SSN, a process which takes weeks. But without the SSN, I can't get my license or work, so I can't actually start my job on the day I told Border Patrol that I would. And all this is assuming anyone would even offer me a job without being licensed to work in NJ.
Anyone have experience with obtaining a professional license alongside work visa/SSN or can figure out this very circular arrangement?

I've already contacted NJ dental board by phone and email multiple times with no response (and their Google reviews suggest that it isn't just me).

Members don't see this ad.

I would post your question in the international dentist forum.

Last edited:
Canadian dentist trying to relocate to NJ. I'll try to keep it brief and easy to follow. From what I've researched, what I understand is: