MD How do I make myself a better candidate?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tessellations

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm mainly just looking for advice on how to make myself a more competitive applicant. I've still got a lot of time to change things if need be, so I figured out I'd reach out here to see if anyone is willing to give me some advice on this. Here are my stats/facts so far:
I'm a sophomore undergrad student majoring in biochemistry and minoring in psych. I currently have a 4.00, and likely will take the MCAT in April/May before the summer I plan on applying. That's the plan mainly so I can take my core biochemistry major classes, though I'm open to hear suggestions on if I should take it earlier. I recognize that this will make or break my application.

Currently doing/Have done:
300 hours this past summer working as a CNA at a nursing home
13 hours shadowing in EM with two doctors
Phi Sigma Pi National Honor Fraternity - currently on philanthropy committee and hoping to run for EBoard (Head of Philanthropy) next year
Premedical Society
Working for a program that is a cross between SI and Tutoring. Basically, I help to lead a 2 hour study session every week for students enrolled in a class that I have previously taken. Once a week my fellow peer leaders in my course meet to go over a professor generated problem set, so that we are able to effectively help our students go through the problems during their sessions. I tutor calculus currently, and this my second semester doing this.

Planning on doing in the future:
Volunteering at an emergency homeless shelter near my school once to twice a week. This won't start until November of this semester.
More shadowing, though this has been difficult for me to find.