WAMC - I have never been so scared to make a post in my life!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrMashUp

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Stats at A Glance:
- DIY Post Bacc credits (34 total, all BCP mostly upper division)
- cGPA: -- Will state at the end because I want to give context first
- sGPA: 3.8
- Post-Bacc GPA: 3.9
- MCAT: March 2023 - 505
- MPH GPA: 3.9
- Non-Clinical Volunteering: Catholic Charity ~180 hours (1 day a month for the last 7 years)
- Physician Shadowing - 40 hrs (I really was just checking a box)
- Clinical & Research Experience > 12,000 hrs (attained through paid employment for the last 8 years)
*Worked full-time throughout all schooling*

The Context:
I graduated, after my 2nd attempt at undergrad, with a BA in Psych in 2015 with no aspirations or dreams to attend medical school - Never even considered it - it was nowhere on my radar. Directly after graduating, I applied blindly to a million research assistant jobs and ended up getting one at an academic institution (within Dept of Med - Div. Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences) with a vague plan to maybe apply to PhD programs (Clinical Psych or Public Health - truthfully, I just needed a job). Little did I know the effect this would have on the trajectory of my life.

The PIs who hired me were two BIG names (PhDs - full professors) in HIV Prevention & Behavioral research and an early career infectious disease researcher (MD) who was just about to initiate their first pilot study (it was research but more clinically focused). My effort as an RA was split between their projects (pilot study + large trials funded by NIAID/NIDA/USAID). In the next two years, I gained research experiences that might seem unbelievable if you read the W&A section of my AMCAS app without considering my non-trad status.