How do PT schools compare? A student's perspective

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted671726

Hello!

I am currently a DPT student at Northwestern and I was just wondering... What are other programs like? Feel free to vent/gloat because I want to hear students' perspectives on what their programs are like.

What is your program like? (some questions to think about)
  • Hours per week
  • Clinical assignments
  • Are you enjoying school?
  • Are you satisfied with your program?
  • What do you think about your curriculum? Quality, relevance of material, etc.
  • What do you think about your faculty?
  • Major pros / major cons / anything people might not know about your program
  • Anything else on your mind!

Members don't see this ad.

I can go first.

My program: Northwestern University
  • Hours per week: 25-35 (6-8 hours/day) - Are these hours normal? Seems like a lot.
  • Great anatomy program. Our professor is one of the best I have had and she teaches in a way that helps me to systematically understand the material.
  • We have about 100 students, which I like.
  • Clinicals - two 6-week clinicals and two 12-week clinicals. I like the breakdown and how it is 2 years didactic and the third year is essentially just two 12-week clinicals.
  • Research-oriented: I don't know about other schools (why I made this thread) but ours seems very research-oriented. In biomechanics, we do a lot of formulas and calculations. Even in renal and respiratory physiology, we are using a lot of formulas and calculations to find things such as respiratory acidosis. I personally am not going into research, so I find it all a bit unnecessary.