How do you deal with smart ass remarks?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whournameiz

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Yes we all know it is appropriate to brush it off. But at what point can you remark back?!

And I mean smart ass comments in the hospital by nonMDs. You ask someone a simple question and they give u a rude smart ass comment back. Do you just let them walk on you?

Members don't see this ad.

I assume you mean by ancillary staff and nurses? That's a tough sitution because when they don't like you, they make your life hell. You can always respond with a serious remark back, such as:
"Is there something I did to make you angry at me?"
"I'm sorry. I'm just trying to learn because I'm new to the hospital, I would appreciate your help with this because I need to know how things are done around here."
"Can you explain that to me in more detail?"
"I'm sorry, Id din't realize it was that simple. Would you show me how to do that then?"
etc.

What I hate is the evil looks you get, even when you are not the culprit. Like when some staff hate residents/medical students in general. Just remember that you can always take it to the attending or GME and they can bring it up to the director of nursing, etc. to find a amicable solution.

Members don't see this ad :)
"I'm sorry. I'm just trying to learn because I'm new to the hospital, I would appreciate your help with this because I need to know how things are done around here."

"I'm sorry, I didn't realize it was that simple. Would you show me how to do that then?"
etc.