1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

how do you know you'll be a good pediatrician?

Discussion in 'Pediatrics' started by nightowl, Dec 10, 2008.

1. nightowl

nightowl Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I am a third year med student having a lot of trouble deciding on a specialty, but I remember enjoying my pediatrics rotation. I also like seeing kids in family medicine. I never really thought of myself as being one of those stereotypical "great with kids" types. I am a very friendly person and like the friendly, warm, fun atmosphere of pediatrics... I like pediatric hospitals and I like pediatricians. I just wonder if this is enough to choose pediatrics as a career. I'm afraid that I'll go this route and then turn out to not have a knack for it.... I am good with adults because I take time to talk, am patient, etc. but I feel like I would burn out on adults not taking care of themselves, social issues, and the atmosphere of adult medicine, which just seems more competitive with less friendly personalities. I know these are generalizations, but I'm more than half way through my third year and still really struggling with what to do.:confused:

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. BigRedBeta

BigRedBeta Why am I in a handbasket?
    Physician 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I'm a big believer in the notion that happy people are productive people. If you feel like you'll be happier going into peds, then that's a perfectly acceptable reason in my book.

One of the things I've realized on my peds months is that even if you don't have a natural "talent" for kids, there are plenty of little tricks you can pick up along the way. There's even a thread around here somewhere about them...I'll have to see if I can find it.