How Do You Study

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Two Sides

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm starting school this July, and I was wondering what works for you guys. In undergrad, I read the textbook, slides, and learning objectives. From posts on SDN, I've seen that reading textbooks for courses is too time consuming. Is this true?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm starting school this July, and I was wondering what works for you guys. In undergrad, I read the textbook, slides, and learning objectives. From posts on SDN, I've seen that reading textbooks for courses is too time consuming. Is this true?

There was an SDN user who put together all the best advice on here a month or two ago. I'd scroll down a ways and look for it. The majority of current OMS I-IV's seemed to agree and add in little things!

Reactions: 3 users
I'm a B student and I hand write all my notes. Takes me about three times as long as my classmates to do a lecture. But I learn while making the summaries and graphs and charts. Then I read through them all about 4-5 times before the test, spaced out and quiz myself.

So if we have like six hours of lecture on a day, it takes me like 18 hours to consider myself caught up. I don't like just listening, I like to pause and draw things out and google. I'm usually a day or two behind my classmates and get caught up over the weekend.

I know people who get B's who just reread the powerpoints over and over. I couldn't do that, I have to write down things in my own words and draw pictures to remember stuff. And typing never worked for me either.

I know a girl who seems like she has higher grades who makes millions of flashcards. I found it difficult to turn my notes into flashcards so quit trying.

I'd like to try new methods but when all your tests seem to be worth 60% of your grade, you're reluctant to experiment . . .