How does part-time scribe schedule work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eat_this_vegetable

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a full time student thinking of doing some medical scribing on the side. How much of a time commitment are we talking about? Is it possible to only work weekends?

Members don't see this ad.

It depends on where you work. I work at an outpatient clinic that is only open on weekdays 8-5pm. For my scribing company you pick your own shifts and can work whenever you want as long as you meet a minimum shift requirement per month. We have a 400-600hr total requirement, so if you want to resign before that requirement is up they supposedly charge you a couple hundred bucks (not sure if this has ever happened before but it is stated in the contract). Some companies have a 6 month requirement and some have a 1 year requirement, so once again it depends on which company you plan on working for.

In regards to being a full time student and working, it is definitely doable. Most of the scribes I work with are enrolled full time and are able to balance school and work just fine. Are you looking at mainly working as an ER scribe? They have different requirements ie holidays, weekends, overnight shifts.

The ability to work only weekends is dependent on the scribe company you work for. I wouldn't have been able to work weekends only with the company I worked for. I worked part time ~20hrs as a full time student (while studying for the MCAT) so it's definitely doable. It's all about time management.

Members don't see this ad :)