How Important is Volunteering/Shadowing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Newguy92

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'm a sophomore right now, and since last semester I've been trying to volunteer at the hospital near my school but its proving to be difficult. Last semester I attend the hospital's volunteer orientation and got all of the required tests and paper work done, but they appeared to have trouble getting my documentation to the volunteer office. By the time that was straightened out, fall semester was practically over so I decided to wait until this one. Well now, I've been emailing them, letting them know when I was available. The last one I sent was about a week or so ago, I don't want to be overbearing or pushy, but...I need to start getting some hours!

Also, I would be the only doctor in my family, so I don't have many connections in the medical field, so finding someone to shadow is proving to be impossible.

I'm planning on trying to volunteer at my home hospital during the summer, but I'll be studying abroad for the first two months, leaving me with about only 4-5 weeks to volunteer. (Then plus winter break possibly)

If I manage to finally get a response from the hospital near my school. Do you think I will be able to get enough clinical exposure by the time I apply? I mean, I'm doing other things like research and other EC's, (but not medically related)

Members don't see this ad.

Clinical experience is absolutely essential. It would be unwise to spend a quarter million dollars and upwards of a decade only to find out that professional medicine is not what you had imagined as a teenager. Better to figure it out sooner than later.

In other words, try not to just sign up for volunteering gig 'to get it out of the way' and 'check it off your list' but instead go into it with an open mind and sincerely try to imagine yourself in that environment 60+ hours per week.