How Many Hours Do You Work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BobA

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year medical student considering psychiatry. I worked for two years as a residential advisor & recreational therapist for adults with mental illness (at Spring Lake Ranch - very cool place). I lived with clients, ate meals with them, worked with them on a farm during the day, met with the psychiatrist once a week - so I have an idea of what psych can be like in a nice setting.

I really want to lead a balanced, happy life. I think I can do that through school - but I'm not sure about residency.

How many hours do psych residents work?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It generally ranges depending on the program, and on the year you're in. Almost universally, the first year has the most hours, ranging from between 40 and 80 - again depending on the rotation (medicine vs. neuro vs. psych etc).

Generally speaking, the hours decrease as you move on from year to year. Often, call is eliminated completely by the fourth year, again depending on the program. Our fourth years averaged less than 40 hour weeks.

BobA said:
I'm a first year medical student considering psychiatry. I worked for two years as a residential advisor & recreational therapist for adults with mental illness (at Spring Lake Ranch - very cool place). I lived with clients, ate meals with them, worked with them on a farm during the day, met with the psychiatrist once a week - so I have an idea of what psych can be like in a nice setting.

I really want to lead a balanced, happy life. I think I can do that through school - but I'm not sure about residency.

How many hours do psych residents work?

Thanks!

This early-career attending is working 50-55 hours a week, on call (home call and weekend rounding) 3 weeks annually.

Members don't see this ad :)
OldPsychDoc,