How many hours for the MCAT/week?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theboeingguy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a plan in mind which adds up to 40hrs/week on MCATS besides school. I'm planning to take them in July '10. Any suggestions from previous MCAT veterans as to what sections should I concentrate on more than the others? What materials should be using other than the free stuff available on line?

~ Cheers

Members don't see this ad.

:eek: You'll burn out and stuff. I studied for probably 10 hours a week for like 2 months, took a break for about a month and a half (school got to be too much). Then 25-30 hours a week during Winter Break. I tested in January so it worked out pretty nicely.

Also, I'm moving this thread to the MCAT forum.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a crammer so the MCAT posed a huge problem for me.

I studied about 6 hours a day for the first month that I studied...and then upped it to 8 hours a day for the second month. The last 2 weeks I just took a practice test every other day (I DO NOT recommend this last part - i started getting very burnt out by test #6 or 7 in a 2 week period lol...). But it worked out well and I went from 18 (1st test score) to 34-35 a week before the exam.

If I could go back and change anything, I would take more than JUST two months (extend it to 2.5-3 months) of pure content/strategy studying and only study 5 hrs a day the first month then up it to maybe 6-7. That way you can spread out practice exams a bit more.

YOU CAN DO IT - Im horrible at verbal reasoning and the slowest reader in the world. I took physics and G chem as a freshman and acted stupid because I was "too cool" to go to class and got straight Bs and learned nothing. The real MCAT my physical science was a 13 - up from a 4 (1st practice test ever). Anything is possible. goodluck :thumbup: