How much does applying late hurt you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

student2008

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to this forum and to this whole applying to medical school process. I've read a lot about and heard from friends that starting late in the application cycle can really hurt your chances. I am just wondering how bad it is to take your mcat in september and submit your amcas immediately after. Given that most california schools have a primary deadline of nov. 1, I'll probably still make that deadline.

Let's say I have a 3.8 (overall gpa) 3.9 (science gpa) and gets a 33 on the mcat. I have some health related EC all throughout college as well as a leadership position in one student organization. I worked mainly on the business side of health care industry after I graduated college and that's when I found out that my true calling should've been medicine. I have some LORs ready to go.

I'm planning to apply to just California schools and strongly thinking of applying this year.

Any advice? Should I do it? Would it be a waste of time and money? Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

First off, if you're planning on applying this cycle get your primary submitted to AMCAS ASAP, not after you get your MCAT score back. Verification can take awhile. Also, I would check with the schools that you plan to apply to that they actually accept a September MCAT test. I don't believe that they all do. Furthermore, getting into a CA school is ridiculously hard to do even in the best of circumstances. Applying right at the deadline strikes me as....well....giving yourself a very poor shot at an acceptance. I'm sure it's been done, but not often. Good luck.