Medical How much of a detriment are my lackluster clinical volunteering hours?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a current pre-med sophomore and I'll be a junior in fall. I'm heavily invested in a volunteer org that provides medical interpretations/patient advocacy but I'll likely only have 50 clinical hours by the time I apply to medical school. Thought I do believe that these are extremely high quality hours in something that I'm really passionate about, I'm worried about how much of a detriment this will be to my application which I don't think is terrible but also not the best:

GPA:3.98
MCAT: will take later this summer but I'm scoring 520+'s on the AAMC p-tests
2000+ hours over 4 Years research in Epidemiology/Public Health Policy
  • 4 Publications (average IF of 3~4)
  • Lab Coordinator (really strong relationship with PI)
  • Peer Reviewer
500 hours in non-clinical volunteering (leadership role as an External Director: I communicate with hospitals, clinics, and NPOs to organize my organization's volunteer effort)
100 shadowing hours
  • Internal (50)
  • Geriatrics (50)
100 hours in a Public Policy advocacy Undergraduate Journal as an editor/writer

I just wanted to ask advice on how I should proceed with applying to Med-school and primarily if I even have a shot if I were to apply in Junior year and not take a gap year?
your lack of clinical hours will be lethal

Members don't see this ad.

Generally, yes, >150 hours should be the benchmark. But tell me a little more about the non-clinical volunteering. If you're really making a meaningful impact and directly interfacing with the healthcare system, it's possible that is more meaningful than I am initially giving it credit for.