How much time did you need for secondaries?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BeMD13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got hit with 22 applications all at once and just now submitted the last one... almost SIX weeks later! I prioritized them so I'm not freaking out too much, but will they even look at it at this point? I wish I would've known so that I could've staggered my primary applications! Did anyone else take this long for any of theirs?

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds like my timeline. My app just said have it in by December but I hope they don't pay attention to how long it was since I got it. I feel like it was almost disrespectful to turn it in after a six week lag.

Members don't see this ad :)
These secondaries are ridiculous. I have a second degree in journalism, and I still can't stand them or write them quick enough.

Reactions: 3 users
I got hit with 22 applications all at once and just now submitted the last one... almost SIX weeks later! I prioritized them so I'm not freaking out too much, but will they even look at it at this point? I wish I would've known so that I could've staggered my primary applications! Did anyone else take this long for any of theirs?

After I submitted my primary I started pre writing them. That was 4 weeks long and then I took 1 week after I was verified for a total of 5 weeks essentially. I was taking my sweet ass time during pre verification though so might have been able to condense it.

Did you not pre-write at all?

Can any current med students comment on their experiences with submitting secondaries >4 weeks after getting them and the results from those schools?

Reactions: 1 users
Can any current med students comment on their experiences with submitting secondaries >4 weeks after getting them and the results from those schools?