How much to charge for services

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PGY2

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to private practice and would like to know what you guys are charging for the following:

1) new patient evaluations
2) follow up office visits
3) consults - in office
4) hospital consults

I know what you get paid is dependent on your contract with the different payors, but what do you actually put down on the HCFA forms for the amount to charge?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

RG

Members don't see this ad.

i would say it is pretty safe to get a medicare schedule and then multiply anywhere between 2 to 4 times for your charges - that way you should capture most private payers...

i would say it is pretty safe to get a medicare schedule and then multiply anywhere between 2 to 4 times for your charges - that way you should capture most private payers...

i agree... the key is to make sure that your charges are high enough to capture all payers. The actual number doesnt really matter.

For instance.... a level III followup from medicare is near $60. Highest commercial payer is near $120...As long as your charge is above 120, it isnt a real big deal unless you have a lot of private pay patients. But if your charge was $110 then you are leaving money on the table.

For private pay you can give a prompt pay discount without running afoul with your commercial contracts (however they do need to pay promptly)...

Members don't see this ad :)
I know your numbers are exactly what I have always been told, but no one has ever explained to me what the down side would be to having your multiplier be 10x, just in case you happen to hit the jackpot occasionally.