How recent should clinical experience be?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

polyploidy516

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

As my most recent clinical experience is from 2016 ( I worked 5 years at an HIV clinic) , I have not done any clinical experience since then ( mostly due to COVID-19); I have 3 years of basic science research.

My only "clinical experience" during COVID is a Contact Tracer for my city government since May 2020; I emailed the director of this program regarding clinical experience at their clinic but was told they are not accepting volunteers yet---I will be receiving an LOR from this person, however.

As I am applying in June, do I need recent clinical experience? I would estimate that my clinical experience is about 500 hours but that is from 2016. Also would contact tracing during COVID19 count? I have been working full time since 2020.

I also have significant teaching experience with the underserved (i.e. teaching reproductive health, STEM, etc) in addition to volunteering for food bank & homeless shelters; do these count or do I need more formal recent clinical volunteering (i.e. hospital, clinic setting, etc)?

I have like 4 months until I apply and would be grateful for your help; the most I can get is like 50 hours if I start now but is that too little?

I would be grateful for your assistance.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You are totally fine. Even medical students like myself haven't been able to get many volunteering or clinical rotation activities during COVID. I think the fact that you did something during the pandemic is commendable, especially if you have held a full time job since 2020. If you end up having a tough cycle, then a clinical experience would most definitely not be the reason why.

You may also consider quitting your current job and getting a job at a clinic (scribe, receptionist, etc), but this is not necessary.