How to ask PI if you can present poster

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chibucks15

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey so I can't tell if I'm in a unique situation or not so figured I'd ask around

I got connected with a PI who has already completed a project and presented it abroad a few years ago. I wrote it up as a manuscript and he said he'd give me second author. It's still in the tweaking phase so who knows when/if it'll get published. My school does a research symposium for students to present the projects they've worked on and makes a full conference out of it. What's the best way to go about asking if I can present it? Basically I don't want to come off as taking credit for his work and presenting it but he did say he'd make me second author on the paper. Currently my idea is to straight up ask but I have zero experience in research and honestly would like an eventual letter outta this guy

It's pretty much done already so putting a poster on my CV and presenting at a conference would be an easy boost, because I could use all the boost I can get Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

"Hey so you had mentioned that you would put me as second author on that project, because you are putting me as an author would you mind if I made a poster on it and presented it at the school's research symposium?"

Don't over think it.

Reactions: 2 users
Hey so I can't tell if I'm in a unique situation or not so figured I'd ask around