1. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice

How to become a michigan resident as a student?

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by Kawaii, Apr 12, 2001.

1. Kawaii

Kawaii Junior Member

Hey guys,
    I am currently a california resident and planning on attending UM. I was wondering if there is any way I can apply for michigan residency. I am prepared to pay 50,000+ for the first year, however, it will be great if I can become michigan resident and pay less for the rest of my dental school education. If anyone has any information, please reply. Thank you so much ^^

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. ned

ned Member

Don't think so! You need to be working in Michigan for one continuous year. For tuition purposes, they're STICKLERS about it. I have a friend that wanted in-state tuition for UofM undergrad. He legitimately worked for one year, but the financial aid office made him bring in reciepts for his *groceries* for the year he lived in Mich to prove that he was living, eating, and working here.

If there is a way to get around this rule, I'd certainly be interested in knowing. I'm in UMich med school. I have a fellowship, but my out-of-state friends are paying $10,000 more than my in-state friends!

4. Doggie

Doggie Professional Jackass

Kawaii is a California traitor.... [​IMG]

5. ned

ned Member

Welcome to the DARK SIDE (cue scary music)...

6. groundhog

groundhog 1K Member