How to get clinical experience... in one semester

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ladymiresa

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so basically I'm hoping to apply this coming summer and I feel like my application is lopsided.

I'm a senior, have a 4.0 GPA, have yet to take the MCAT, and have done 2 summers of research with poster presentations but no pubs. I have very little clinical experience, though, and very few shadowing hours. Part of the problem is that I go to school in a rural area so, as I see it, the clinical opportunities are limited. I realize I might be trying to self-rationalize, though. The other problem is that outside of studying I spend most of my time during the school year working and doing leadership in campus clubs, something I've been very passionate about.

Two summers ago I completed a clinician researcher development program in which I worked directly with research volunteers and physicians to study lower back pain. But I'm not sure if I can actually consider this clinical work since at its core it was research.

I've also volunteered two summers at a camp for children with cancer... but that was nearly four years ago now and again I wasn't an aid or anything, I mostly just set up activities, assisted with meals, etc. It was a positive experience, though.

So basically, I'm seeking advice on how to round out my experiences a bit more. I realize I should have been thinking about this years ago, not just a few months before I submit my app. But it is what it is. Are there opportunities that can yield something meaningful in just a few months that I haven't really thought about yet? Furthermore, something that's accessible to a rural student like me?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
~

Last edited:
Hey guys, so basically I'm hoping to apply this coming summer and I feel like my application is lopsided.