How to get into top medical school (extracurricular focused)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HotDoc212

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently a second semester sophomore who's started planning for medical school. I am extremely interested in getting into a top med school ( who isn't) and was just wondering for those who've heard stories ofnAdmitted applications, what kind of ECs they were involved in. I've completed all my pre reqs except for second semester organic chemistry (currently enrolled), and have a 3.91 overall GPA and 3.85 science GPA. Obviously this needs to be paired with an excellent mcat score but I was wondering what are some ECs that help you stand out? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am currently a second semester sophomore who's started planning for medical school. I am extremely interested in getting into a top med school ( who isn't) and was just wondering for those who've heard stories ofnAdmitted applications, what kind of ECs they were involved in. I've completed all my pre reqs except for second semester organic chemistry (currently enrolled), and have a 3.91 overall GPA and 3.85 science GPA. Obviously this needs to be paired with an excellent mcat score but I was wondering what are some ECs that help you stand out? Thanks!

Good GPA, good MCAT, research, clinical, and community service. Check all the boxes and do it with things you're passionate about. You have a good GPA, get the rest and it will maximize your chances. However, apply broadly. If you only apply to top 10 it becomes a bit of a crap shoot of getting one acceptance no matter what your app looks like, as many of the applicants to these schools are equally qualified.

Reactions: 1 user