How to organize during intern year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Apply Pressure

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all- I'm a 4th year med student still reeling off the excitement of the match. YEAH!

In any case, I want to be prepared and well organized for intern year. What are some strategies you can suggest to make sure that all my patient information is available, organized, and ready for the day? I've always had a problem with this as a med student-- from keeping notes on a new admission to following up the results of a test on a particular patient.. everything seems like it just ends up on loose paper hanging out of my white coat pocket.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all- I'm a 4th year med student still reeling off the excitement of the match. YEAH!

In any case, I want to be prepared and well organized for intern year. What are some strategies you can suggest to make sure that all my patient information is available, organized, and ready for the day? I've always had a problem with this as a med student-- from keeping notes on a new admission to following up the results of a test on a particular patient.. everything seems like it just ends up on loose paper hanging out of my white coat pocket.

Thanks.

At the beginning having a binder to put copies of HPs and progress notes helps alot. As the year moves along you will just be able to keep alot of the details in your head. Finally you will have a scut list with check boxes so you know what to do all day.

I am all about to-do lists. I always carry a small notepad in my pocket and write down anything I need to take care of. I got into this habit as an ER Tech, before I went to med school. I knew that when I wrote it on my notepad it would get done. Memory is faulty. Knowing that you have a list on a notepad to turn to is a huge load of your mind.