How well do you have to know someone for LOR?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RatherBEventing

Ohio State c/o 2015 :)
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm not sure how well a vet has to know you before they can write you a letter of recommendation..
I have a vet back home that I shadowed a couple times (as in like, 4), a vet in New England that I shadowed for a week (it was actually like an externship setting), and 7 vets at work (but I work as a receptionist so they have no clue about my work abilities personally). Sooo is just shadowing with a vet enough to get a good LOR? Because the way I saw all this, was that they should know about your work ability, etc, etc, and I feel like just shadowing does not give them much to write about you at all. Any suggestions on how to get a good LOR from a vet? (actually, I'm applying to OSU, so I need to get 2 excellent LORs from vets)
I'm a junior in undergrad right now, so I have a little less than a year to get this all figured out (since their deadline is Oct 1st I believe..although I'm not planning on waiting until last min)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I think you mean The Ohio State University and not Oklahoma or Oregon right?

Personally, I think you should know a LOR better than that. They will simply be able to give you a better recommendation. They'll know you better, and what you are capable of. Getting a recommendation of, "she showed up on time" is not really helpful.

I'm at OSU now, and personally I applied to work at a job where there were multiple vets. That way I could have two vets write an recommendation and I only needed one job.

I know that Ohio is strict about being a registered tech to get a job and that might be why you've only shadowed so far. My recomendation is to go out of state. I went to Florida for a summer and it worked out great.