All Branch Topic (ABT) HPSP/USUHS - problems?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AdviceNeeded

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a US permanent resident interested in becoming a military doctor (army/navy/AF) , I would like to join ROTC for undergraduate and then HPSP/ USUHS for med school, but since I am not a US citizen I cant join ROTC and only hope I will be a citizen by the end of college so I can join HPSP/USUHS. But there are a few things I could not find an answer for, and hope you could help me out:
1. I was born in Israel, and as an Israeli citizen I cannot enter most Muslim countries. Will the army disqualify me for this? Since I cannot be deployed overseas in the Muslim countries? (I am okay with going but my place of birth and citizenship is forbidding me to/ I can't enter?)
2. I want to cancel my Israeli citizenship once I will be a US citizen, but the problem is that, in Israel Army is mandatory for every citizen/resident and I am running away from army (I have a warrant/arrest permission against me?) It says no criminal background to join US Army, is refusing to serve in a foreign army a crime? (I am confused..) so since there is a warrant against me I can't cancel my citizenship, will that hurt my security clearance?
3. Will GED and community college credits hurt my chances getting into med school and receiving hpsp? (or only undergraduate grades matter?)

Just to mention, I don't want to join army for the money, I would like to join army even if I won't receive the scholarship but since they offer a scholarship.. why not take it? :), I have lived in wars all my life, suffered missiles attacks so I am kind of used to wars/military lifestyle, I don't want to join Israeli army because I suffered in this country, and would like to serve in the US since it helped me so much.

Thank you, I will appreciate any help/advice given.

Members don't see this ad.