Hypothetical Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SerUnMedico

Reaction score
I am a Molecular Bio /premed student, now preparing to apply to med school. While I have always done well in school, my greatest weakness has always been standardized testing — I dont’t know what it is, maybe I get so nervous and worked up or whatever. My sGPA 3.89, cGPA 3.86. I am doing my best to study for the MCAT but quite frankly, I’m terrified. So, here’s my hypothetical question…
(1) If say, the highest I get on the MCAT is low 500s, should I take a gap year or do Post Bacc? I read that Post Bacc is mostly for those who don’t have a strong GPA…? I also would like to avoid the cost of Post Bacc program! If I were to take a gap year, while obviously studying immensely for the MCAT, what type of work should I look for? Is being a scribe a good background/experience?
(2) If, worse case scenario, I don’t score more than 505, should I start looking at foreign med schools? I mean, I don’t know if I want to go to a foreign MD school or should I take a gap year or Post Bacc and reapply? How do foreign med schools do in terms of matching (Internal Medicine)?
(3) How crucial is having done undergraduate research? Try as I might, I just haven’t been able to land any research positions (I’ve applied to several, including volunteer positions).
Also, I don’t know if it still matters but I am an URM, California.
Would greatly appreciate your input!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: