I am considering Psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

timewilltell

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore working towards a degree in psychology. Psychiatry was my first career choice, but the length of medical school scared me away. However, after realizing I'll have to go to graduate school to do anything in psychology anyways, I am reconsidering psychiatry. Can someone give me advice on what I need to do to be considered competitive since I'll be applying to med school with a psychology degree, which I know is not seen as being rigorous. Also, I am a little worried about how to pay off student loans. How have you guys been able to repay them?

Also are there any useful tips, general information, or anything I should know before pursuing med school or psychiatry?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Being competitive won't be any different with a psych degree than it will with any other degree. The premed forum has a lot of good resources for this (with a good amount of BS mixed in). The debt is a separate issue and very complicated. It depends what you're comparing it against but in short you will pay off your loans barring some strange, unforeseen event.

Please remember. Psychiatry is a medical field, full of science, clinical faculty and other stuff. YOU MUST know a good amount of IM, Surgery, Neuroscience, Histography, Anatomy, Dermatology and other stuff in order to be an M.D. So, i hope you love science, delivering babies and other essential items to be called a doctor, or you will have *******s ay it is useless. It is busy, it is hard, and unless you get into Hopkins, Harvard or Perelman, (those schools: primma donna) you will be worked harder than dirt and fear the numerous exams. And do well.

Members don't see this ad :)