Mar 26, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I am 34 and starting to feel a little despondent about the whole process of applying to medical school. I applied to 35 allopathic schools and 3 osteopathic schools this year and received rejections from almost all of them except for touro-CA where I was placed on the medium wait list. I am finishing up a two year program at Drexel University. I completed their MSP program with a 3.9 and I will be completing their IMS program with a 3.8. The IMS program included all of their first year MD courses except for gross and genetics, and we were graded against the medical school mean. I have a 3.2 GPA and sGPA from UC Berkeley which is why I enrolled in Drexel's program. My other deficiency is my 26 on the MCAT. I plan on taking the MCAT over again in June. I had been working as a researcher and project manager for 8 years at a government research lab and later for a private firm before enrolling at Drexel. I also have years of experience volunteering at free clinics in Berkeley and Philadelphia.

I have asked a number of advisors if I have a shot at medical school with these stats and most have assured me that I should be able to get into a program somewhere, however, I am starting to have serious doubts. Am I completely off my rocker for applying to medical school with these stats and my age? I was told during one of my interviews recently that some administrators on the admissions committee look down on older students because they have fewer years to contribute to the medical school profession. Has anyone had a similar experience? I would be happy to receive any advice before I give up on this pursuit. PM me if you have any specific questions about Drexel's postbac program.

Mar 11, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
There was an applicant from UC Berkeley who got rejected through FOUR application cycles. I guess that's a personal decision.