I don't know if I want to be a pharmacist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmagirl15

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pharmacy student and I got to an accredited 6 year pharmacy program at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy at USciences
I am a Pharmacy major.
I don't want to be a pharmacist when I grow up, I have no interest at all but my parents insist that I become a pharmacist.
I am interested in becoming from 1 becoming what I am most interested in to 6 being least.

1)commercial creative director (marketing)
2)dentist
3)optometrist
4)physician assistant
5)psychiatrist
6)nurse anesthetist

What should I do? I don't know if I want to give up my pharmacy track since I am already in the program and my second year in. Should pharmacy be my backup in case I don't get into dentistry school or should I just finish pharmacy and do what I like after I get a financially stable job? Or should I get an MBA after my PharmD, but I don't want to work in pharmaceutical advertisement...at all. BUT my passion to be a creative director for commercial advertisements, I want to create the commercial or market a product by coming up with the idea of what the commercial will entail. I am also very interested in dentistry an I am interested in 7 year dental programs but I don't know if I can get in those right now since I will be a transfer and not coming straight from high school.

However I don't know if I should so readily give up the great program I am in that a lot of people want to be in who don't have the grades for it.I know I can get into advertisement with a PharmD, but I don't want to advertise drugs.I also hate the pharmacy school I am in but would it be stupid to transfer to another pharmacy school I may like, take PCATS, apply when I am already in a pharmD program and even when I don't want to continue pharmacy?