I failed my OPP course...now what

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDFUTURE123

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
To start, I am an OMS-II student and i have always had a certain dislike for OMM/OPP. I never found it particularly useful and some of the concepts seen a little out there, if you know what i mean. I have never failed any exams since the start of medical school and have been above average always. I am involved in student leadership, have published several research papers and I want to go into general surgery, at this time (that could change during rotations). I recently failed my OPP exam and now the school is making me take a cumulative OPP exam to make sure I can pass that, which I doubt I can do, and if I do not pass, then I will be forced to leave/ restart the entire year..which i think is ridiculous. If i can honors courses like Neuro and Renal, and i can pass my boards, which I am currently doing on my practice tests, why must I repeat the year for a course that is the epitome of pseudoscience? Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
Reactions: 1 user
Why do you feel that you can't pass the cumulative exam? How long do you have to study? Is it just a written exam or is there a practical component also? Are you still currently in classes or do you have dedicated time to study for this exam? Are you also trying to study for Step & COMLEX during this remediation? Does your school offer any remediation resources, or do you just study on your own? Do you have OMM fellows or TAs who can help you narrow down what you need to study to be successful on the exam? Is it cumulative for the year or just the second semester? How did you do in OMM last year?