I feel hopeless. What do I do now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AM&PM

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Non trad Feeling very depressed but I will share anyway. I graduated with a 2.8 from undergrad and luckily found myself in a biomedical sciences masters program where I have a 3.9 and will graduate suma cum laude. I just got my Mcat score back and I got a 498 because my CARS dropped from my pervious score (even though I got a 130 on psych which was a 123 last time. Go figure) and I lost my shot at a really good MCAT score. I did a lot of shadowing, working on my own research to get published by the end of the year, I volunteer at a therapy facility, I work at a pediatric office, part of my church's health ministry, part community service organizations in undergrad (and participated) and i didn't more but I didn't want to make anyone bored.
What I'm trying to say is what should I do now? I did a 180 with my grades but tanked my MCAT retake. I still want to apply but I'm feeling a very much like a failure especially since I worked so hard in graduate school to try and change my academia around. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Congrats on the 3.9 bms gpa. That is absolutely amazing! I wouldn't worry about the 498 as much. It could be way worse! It's not like you're applying with a 2.8 undergrad gpa, solely. I'd apply anyway with that score. Also, try HBCUs. On Howard's website, it says that a 494 mcat is considered competitive. Personally, I think you still have a good shot at getting in to someone's med school, given your stats.