I feel like I'm done with Anki but I really don't want to be

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

and 99 others

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I can spend hours on a relatively low number of cards just to make sure I'm studying the concepts properly but when it comes time to applying the knowledge, the things that I can answer in a second on Anki I have so much trouble with in the form of a test question. It really is not helping me with retention and I basically end up just memorizing the card in the little bubble within which I am interacting with it, but have such a hard time using it to synthesize concepts together.

I really don't want to stop using Anki because I can't think of how else I can retain the stuff I'm learning now longitudinally for step 1 and 2 but as it stands it is really hampering my learning because it swallows up so much of my time and I'm unable to deeply interact with a concept because I am falling behind with other lectures. Anyone have any tips on how I can transition to more application based studying while not completely abandoning anki. I know it has some benefit because it helped in my first two blocks but now that we're more systems based, I am really struggling with a comprehensive understanding of physio.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Transition to or incorporate question banks, like Amboss or UWorld. Correctly using question banks involves analyzing each answer choice (yes, the incorrect choices are important too) and reviewing whatever concept it was representing. It also has the benefit of being an active learning method and will better prepare you to answer exam-style questions.

Reactions: 3 users