Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

I Got An 'F'

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by AntiviralsRule, May 10, 2007.

1. AntiviralsRule

AntiviralsRule Student Pharmacist
    7+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    Hi everyone,

First, some background. I am a 36-year-old editor in the beginning stages of making a transition from journalism to pharmacy. I graduated from Stanford in 1994, with a 3.0 GPA (double major in communication and sociology).

Recently, as I was collecting transcripts from Stanford and from several community colleges in order to do postbac work at CSU East Bay, I discovered that I had received an "F" in an Intro to Sociology class at a community college. I KNOW that grade is a mistake, because I had dropped out of that class midway through the quarter and expected to receive a "W" (Withdrawn). But, instead, I received an F. I stupidly never checked the grade -- for that I am totally regretful.

Of course, with the grade being 15 years old, I don't have any evidence to back up my case and so the college won't change it. I don't blame them, really.

So, I'm in a quandry. Will this F keep me out of pharmacy school, knowing how competitive it is? I did take another intro sociology class later in my undergrad career and got an A-.

And if I do well (A's and B's) in my prerequisites (OChem etc), will that help reduce the stain of that F? Should I explain the F in my pharmacy school applications? or just let it lie?

Thanks!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. dgroulx

dgroulx Night Pharmacist
    10+ Year Member

Pharmacist
    I'd just explain it. I don't think that it will be a problem.

4. evilolive

evilolive Member
    5+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    I doubt they will care.

5. krsnyf