I have a Masters in Kinesiology, will that play to my advantage to get into a DPT program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BannBann

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone.

I need help and some feedback!

I am applying to many PT programs in the fall and I want some expertise.
My stats are:

Overall GPA- 3.42
Science GPA- 3.15
Master's Degree GPA- 3.7

I graduated with my Master's in Health and Human Performance December of 2014. I pretty much pursued the Masters because I wanted to be a strength coach. It wasn't until 3/4 way of my program that i wanted to pursue PT. I applied to PT schools on a whim to see what could happen. I didn't get into any of the schools in which I applied for.I was also lacking many prereqs! I then started on my prerequisites. Some classes I had to take over. I ended up taking 26 hours total in the Spring and Summer with 18 of those hours being in the summer time. I was able to boost my science gpa to a little over qualifying. I am taking classes this fall as well to continue to boost my gpa. Does my graduate degree have ANY pull? Its frustrating because I felt like I wasted a year and a semester on a field i no longer wanted to pursue. Please give me some advice. I have over 100 hours in PT from TIRR, outpatient therapy and water rehab PT. I am also a Master Personal Trainer at Lifetime. What do yall think? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.